Today I pulled on my knee-high boots,

several layers on top, hat and work gloves.

Went to the potting shed and pulled out our old red wheelbarrow.

Walked three blocks down the hill to our wooded lot to clean up stuff.

I found a

dozen lottery tickets,

 bottles of various shapes and sizes, 

plastic bags, dog dish, 

newspaper inserts, chip bags,

 insulation, 

  booster seat box, 

cups and

 our neighbor’s water bill. 

Picking up the trash was worth it to find my neighbor’s water bill.

A gentle couple, in their late eighties or early nineties,

their water bill

must have flown out of her hand when she went to get the mail.

I pushed the wheelbarrow back up the hill, picking up more stuff along the way.  I’m ready to go to the fast food restaurants and say,

“Please have a surcharge for your disposable stuff.”

I want to take it to them and ask them to throw it away!

An hour later, I’m back up the hill and drying off the water bill.

Thank goodness all the stuff fit in my garbage can!

And that’s how I spent an hour of my day,

what did you do?

 

The gratitude that we encounter helps us believe in the goodness of the world, and strengthens us thereby to do what’s good.

– Dr. Albert Schweitzer –

