We have many types of gardens around our home.  On the east side of the house we have a vegetable garden.  Right now, to our delight, the asparagus keeps popping up in unexpected places. The peas are starting to climb the trellis.  The lettuce has not been nibbled by the rabbits.  The strawberries are showing signs of buds that will turn into ripe red berries.  The blueberries have tight buds, waiting for warmer weather to pop open and invite the bees to enjoy their nectar.  The raspberry and blackberry canes are showing leaves.  It looks like we might have a good crop this year.  Most of the vegetable garden is waiting for us to add the beans, tomatoes and peppers.  August is such a great month to have all the fresh tomatoes, sometimes they don’t even make it into the kitchen.

We also have apple, peach, pear, cherry and persimmon trees.  To our dismay it looks like we won’t have a bountiful harvest this year.  The trees didn’t have many buds.  We frequently allow too much fruit to stay on the tree and mature which encourages the tree to not produce as much the next year.  It needs a sabbatical.

The daffodils, tulips, hyacinths, forsythia, and lilacs are trumpeting in all the other flowers in our yard.

Under the stately oak tree you will find my woodland wildflower patch.  I brought many of the woodland plants up from my grandfather’s farm.  I miss my walks in the woods.  Right now the May apples, trilliums, and spring beauties are reminding me of my time with family all those years ago.

 

Come visit with me again as the gardens change throughout the growing season and I will tell you stories about each and every plant.

When I Fly 2013

