Thank you for the opportunity to be part of your team.  Yet, I’ve always been curious if my hire was to jab the outgoing super by my outgoing principal.  A joke?  Oh well, my 3 month stint finally rolled into a 12 year career.

Yes, I was let go twice, but diligence found me another spot.  Definitely low man on the totem pole.

Went to my first union meeting and heard, “We are not going to let some 50 year old come in here and change the way we do things.”  Decided not to attend those meetings anymore.  Not sure what I had done.  The speaker didn’t even know me or why I wanted the job.

During my tenure I worked all 4 schools, 9 different principals; teaching music, art, reading and librarian.  Passions all for me.  One principal confided some years later, she didn’t like me when we first met. 

You might be wondering, why start teaching again at 50.  My daughter was heading off to school, so it seemed logical.  A job would help pay college tuition.  We were finishing up 24 years of unschooling in our home.

An unschooling background?  What? Not mentioned in my resume, you can be sure.  The team heard about our unschooling 10 years into my career.

Let’s digress…

How did my children do with an unschooling background?

Excellent!  They keep learning – very autodidactic.  A software developer – now a director of development, a production coordinator for national commercials, a project manager for an international interiors firm who is striving to find full time employment as a writer; I am very proud of my 3 children.  Most importantly they are happy, caring people.

I’ve got the cart before the horse.  I’d rather write about our unschooling journey.

Installments to come !

Still, Thank you School District #_______

 

 

