Just a house wife

I’m just a house wife now.  It occurred to me that in the past I always had some reason or another not to do house work!  Initially I was the youngest in the family and had activities that consumed my time.  I had chores, dusting the “entertainment cabinet”.  My sister got to do the rest.  Sometimes I did the dishes, no dishwasher then.

I got married and either had a job or working on my graduate degree.  By the way, I never finished that degree.  I have lots of graduate hours, but no degree.  The family started and I was 100% involved with raising the kids.  We all had chores to keep the house in order, but we never had the spring cleaning that many partake in.

The nest became empty, so less mess.  I went back to work full time.  Since I was working,  a thorough cleaning of the house did not seem a top priority.  My husband certainly helps with the various chores.

Now, but now, I’m retired, no kids, no job, it is time for me to learn how to clean my house.  We have always kept it neat and tidy.  My mother-in-law frequently gave me gentle hints about the cleaning, but I was so busy I didn’t listen.   You see, this is the house my father-in-law built.  My husband moved in here when he was 3 months old.  We moved in with our family when he was 34 years old.  His parents moved to Florida and would visit once a year for 3 to 6 weeks. So we had plenty of time to exchange cleaning ideas.  

Now it will see a deep clean.  So where do I start?  Well I started outside with the gardens but they are in pretty good order now.  A few hours everyday will keep them in check.  My first big job was the mini blinds in the bathroom.  Cleaning mini blinds, washing them one slat at a time, you need to have other thoughts, than one slat at a time.  I think next will be under the bed. It has been a great place to stash “valuables” for later use.  I bet most of them can go to the resale shop or the land fill.   Oh, the things I will find, I should have taken care of them so many years ago! 

Maybe I should go get another job I’m not sure I’m qualified to be a full time house wife!

When I Fly 2013

